Fall 2017 Academic Convocation: Gathering Celebrates the New Academic Year, Faculty Excellence


On Tuesday, August 29, Scripps College welcomed students, faculty, and staff to campus for the start of the 2017­â€“18 academic year. President Lara Tiedens delivered the opening remarks, followed by Amy Marcus-Newhall, vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty, who congratulated the recipients of the annual Mary W. Johnson Faculty Achievement Awards.

The Johnson awards were given to outstanding Scripps faculty with extraordinary achievements in teaching, scholarship, or service for the 2015–16 academic year, who also have demonstrated proficiency in the other two areas. They are named in honor of Mary W. Johnson, whose commitment and support of Scripps College were as extraordinary as the contributions of the faculty members we honor. Here is the list of winners:


Associate Professor of Politics Mark Golub

Professor of Spanish, Latin American and Caribbean Literatures and Cultures Marina Pérez de Mendiola

Associate Professor of Chemistry Anna Wenzel


Professor of French Thierry Boucquey

Professor of Music Hao Huang

Professor of Religious Studies Andrew Jacobs

Assistant Professor of English Thomas Koenigs

Assistant Professor of Politics Vanessa Tyson


Professor of French Eric Haskell

Associate Professor of English Warren Liu

Associate Professor of English Aaron Matz

Professor of Philosophy Dion Scott-Kakures

The keynote address, “Exploring Options in Research and Teaching,” was delivered by Bruce Coats, professor of art history and the humanities, who holds the first Suzanne Ely Muchnic ‘62 and Paul D. Muchnic Endowed Professorship. Convocation concluded with the singing of Thy Many Gifts, the Scripps College Alma Mater.

New faculty were also introduced at the event.