Amy Marcus-Newhall Named Vice President and Dean of Faculty at Scripps College

Amy Marcus-Newhall replaces Michael Deane Lamkin (right), whose term as interim vice president ends this June.

Amy Marcus-Newhall has been named vice president of academic affairs and dean of faculty at Scripps College for a three-year term, to begin July 1, 2010. Professor Marcus-Newhall has been a member of the Scripps College faculty since 1992 and served as associate dean of faculty from 2000-2006. She will replace Michael Deane Lamkin, whose term as interim vice president and dean of faculty ends June 30, 2010.

“Well-respected by faculty, students, and staff alike, Professor Marcus-Newhall will be a strong addition to the leadership of our institution,” said Scripps College President Lori Bettison-Varga. “Already a member of our Scripps College family for almost two decades, Professor Marcus-Newhall knows the academic and administrative opportunities that lie ahead for our institution.”

Professor Marcus-Newhall is currently faculty in Scripps College’s department of psychology. She has received several honors from the College, including the Mary Wig Johnson Faculty Excellence Award, which she won a total of nine times for her research, teaching, and service to the College. She was also appointed a member of the American Psychological Association Women in Psychology Leadership Institute in 2008. Professor Marcus-Newhall received her PhD in social psychology from the University of Southern California, and her AB Magna Cum Laude in psychology and American studies from Occidental College.