Office of the Registrar

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

2016-2017 Calendar | 2017-2018 Calendar

Fall 2016 Semester

Thursday August 25 Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for new students
Thursday-Monday August 25-August 29
Orientation and Registration
Sunday August 28
Residence halls open at 10 a.m. for continuing students
Tuesday August 30
Classes begin
Monday September 5
Labor Day; classes are in session
Monday September 12 Last day to add classes
Wednesday October 5
Low Grade Reports due in Registrar’s Office
Saturday-Tuesday October 15-18 Fall Break
Thursday October 20 Last day to drop classes without academic penalty
Tuesday-Friday November 15-18 Preregistration for spring semester
Thursday-Sunday November 24-27 Thanksgiving recess
Wednesday December 7
Last day of classes for first semester
Thursday- Friday December 8-9
*Reading days
Monday-Friday December 12-16 Final examinations and end of Fall semester
Saturday December 17 Residence halls close at noon
Thursday December 29 All grades due in the Registrar’s Office by noon

*Thursday and Friday of the last week of classes each semester are designated as Reading Days. Classes are suspended, but professors may hold study sessions, critique sessions, or reviews. No new material may be introduced at these sessions and no exams may be given on Reading Days except to second-semester seniors.

Spring 2017 Semester

Saturday January 14 Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for new students
Saturday-Monday January 14-16 Orientation and Registration for new students
Sunday January 15 Residence halls open at 10 a.m. for continuing students
Monday January 16 Martin Luther King Day observed
Tuesday January 17 Second semester classes begin
Monday January 30 Last day to add classes
Wednesday February 22 Low Grade Reports due in the Registrar’s Office
Thursday March 9
Last day to drop classes without academic penalty
Saturday-Sunday March 11-19 Spring Break
Friday March 31 César Chávez Holiday- Colleges Closed
Tuesday-Thursday April 18-20 Preregistration for fall semester
Wednesday May 3
Last day of classes
Thursday May 4
Capstone Day
Thursday-Friday May 4-5
*Reading days
Friday May 5
Senior grades due in the Registrar’s Office by noon
(HMC grades due May 8 at 9am)
Monday-Friday May 8-12
Final examinations and end of Spring semester
Saturday May 13 Commencement begins at 5:00pm
Saturday May 13 Residence halls close at noon (non-graduates)
Monday May 15 Residence halls close at noon for graduating seniors
Thursday May 18 All other grades due in the Registrar’s Office by noon
Tuesday August 29 Fall 2017

*Thursday and Friday of the last week of classes each semester are designated as Reading Days. Classes are suspended, but professors may hold study sessions, critique sessions, or reviews. No new material may be introduced at these sessions and no exams may be given on Reading Days except to second-semester seniors.