Office of the Registrar

2017-2018 Academic Calendar

Fall 2017 Semester

(dates subject to change)

Thursday August 24 Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for new students
Thurs.-Mon. August 24-28 Orientation and Registration
Sunday August 27 Residence halls open at 10 a.m. for continuing students
Tuesday August 29 Classes begin
Monday September 4 Labor Day; classes are in session
Monday September 11 Last day to add classes
Wednesday October 4 Low Grade Reports due in Registrar’s Office
Sat.-Tues. October 14-17 Fall Break
Thursday October 19 Last day to drop classes without academic penalty
Tues.—Fri. November 14-17 Preregistration for spring semester
Thurs.—Sun. November 23-26 Thanksgiving recess
Wednesday December 6 Last day of classes
Thurs.- Fri. December 7-8 *Reading days
Mon.-Fri. December 11-15 Final examinations and end of fall semester
Saturday December 16 Residence halls close at noon
Tuesday January 2 All grades due in the Registrar’s Office by 8:00 a.m.
Thursday January 4 Fall 2017 grades displayed on the portal

*Thursday and Friday of the last week of classes each semester are designated as Reading Days. Classes are suspended, but professors may hold study sessions, critique sessions, or reviews. No new material may be introduced at these sessions and no exams may be given on Reading Days except to second-semester seniors.

Spring 2018 Semester

Saturday January 13 Residence halls open at 8 a.m. for new students
Sat.-Mon. January 13-15 Orientation and Registration for new students
Sunday January 14 Residence halls open at 10 a.m. for continuing students
Monday January 15 Martin Luther King Day observed
Tuesday January 16 Classes begin
Monday January 29 Last day to add classes
Wednesday February 21 Low Grade Reports due in the Registrar’s Office
Thursday March 8 Last day to drop classes without academic penalty
Sat.-Sun. March 10-18 Spring Break
Friday March 30 Cesar Chavez Holiday- Colleges Closed
Tues.-Thurs. April 17-19 Preregistration for fall semester
Wednesday May 2 Last day of classes
Thursday May 3 Capstone Day
Thurs.-Fri. May 3-4 *Reading days
Friday May 4 Senior grades due in the Registrar’s Office by noon
(HMC grades due May
7 at 9am)
Mon.-Fri. May 7-11 Final examinations and end of spring semester
Saturday May 12 Commencement begins at 5:00 p.m.
Saturday May 12 Residence halls close at noon (non-graduates)
Monday May 14 Residence halls close at noon for graduating seniors
Thursday May 17 All other grades due in the Registrar’s Office by noon
Tuesday May 23 Spring 2018 grades displayed on the portal
Tuesday September 4 Fall 2018

*Thursday and Friday of the last week of classes each semester are designated as Reading Days. Classes are suspended, but professors may hold study sessions, critique sessions, or reviews. No new material may be introduced at these sessions and no exams may be given on Reading Days except to second-semester seniors.