Presidential Search Committee

The Board of Trustees approved the formation of a Presidential Search Committee charged with managing the search and recruitment process for Scripps’ next president and forwarding a recommended finalist to the Board of Trustees.

The committee is composed of the following trustees, faculty, student, and staff representatives.

Ellen Clark Brown (Co-Chair)

Trustee (2013-present)

Chair of the Scripps Beyond Committee; owner, Waterweave Needlepoint; BA, Pomona College

Deborah David ’72 (Co-Chair)

Trustee (1990-present)

Co-Chair of the Audit, Risk, and Compliance Committee; Mediator/Arbitrator, Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services (JAMS); BA, Scripps College; JD, University of California, Los Angeles

Mark R. Herron

Chair of the Board of Trustees (2014-2018); President and CEO, The Davidson Group; BSE, Princeton University; MBA, University of California, Los Angeles

Laura Hockett ’85

Trustee (2014-present)

Co-Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees (2018-present); BA, Scripps College; MS, University of Colorado; MBA, Harvard University Business School

Joan Isaacs ’71

Trustee (2017-present)

Vice Chair of the Audit, Risk, and Compliance Committee; Owner, Isaacs Realty, LLC; BA, Scripps College; MA, New York University; JD, Loyola Law School

Patricia Jackson ’82

Trustee (2002-2011; 2016-present)

Chair of the Mission Fulfillment Committee; Interim Senior Vice President for Development & Alumni Engagement, The New School; BA, Scripps College; MBA, Claremont Graduate University

Gale Picker P’14, P’19

Trustee (2016-present)

Counselor for Parents and Families; BA, Bryn Mawr College

Robert Sacks P’14 (Vice-chair)

Trustee (2014-present)

Co-Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees (2018-present); Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP; AB, Harvard University; JD, University of Texas at Austin

Lynne Thompson ’72 (Board Chair)

Trustee (1998-2000; 2014-present)

Chair of the Board of Trustees (2018-present); Retired Attorney at Law; Poet; BA, Scripps College; JD, Southwestern University School of Law

Brooke E. Tomblin ’92, P’22

Trustee (2019-present)

Director, Health Equity and Social Determinants of Health, Clinical Program Development, Cigna; BA, Scripps College; MPH, Boston University School of Public Health

Yuval Avnur

Professor of Philosophy (2008-present)

BA, University of California, Santa Barbara; PhD, New York University

Dean Calvo

Vice President for Business Affairs/Treasurer (2015-present)

BA, Sacramento State University; MBA, Loyola Marymount University

Gretchen Edwalds-Gilbert

Associate Professor of Biology (2000-present)

BA, Swarthmore College; PhD, Cornell University

Julienne Ho ’23

Student Representative

Jamilla Jamison

Director of Enrollment Strategies and Operations, Enrollment and Admissions (2016-present)

BA, University of Southern California; MA, University of California, Los Angeles; PhD Candidate, Claremont Graduate University

Nancy Neiman

Professor of Politics (1993-present)

BA, University of California, Berkley; MA, PhD, Yale University