Three Scripps Faculty Named to Claremont Faculty Leadership Program

Portrait compilation of Scripps College faculty Nayana Bose, Ted Bartholomew, and Kevin Williamson

Associate Professor of Dance Kevin Williamson, Associate Professor of Psychology Ted Bartholomew, and Associate Professor of Economics Nayana Bose have been named Faculty Fellows in the 2022–23 Claremont Faculty Leadership Program (CFLP). This year’s program officially began with a September 7 reception for fellows and administrative leaders from across The Claremont Colleges.

The CFLP, which hosted its first cohort in 2018, is a year-long program in which fellows “have the opportunity to create meaningful networks with their peers and leaders from across the consortium as they navigate challenges and opportunities in institutional leadership,” says Jennifer Armstrong, associate dean of faculty at Scripps. Run every two years, the program is open to three faculty members from each of The Claremont Colleges, and all tenured and tenure-track faculty are eligible to apply.

The CFLP aims to prepare Claremont Colleges faculty to shape positive institutional change by developing their key skills for successful, sustainable, and inclusive leadership. During their fellowship year, Williamson, Bartholomew, and Bose will attend workshops and conferences focused on leadership self-assessment, leadership pathways, crisis management, ethical and inclusive leadership, leadership style, and consortial collaborations.

“CFLP is a program that allows mission-committed individuals to become leaders that can convert vision into transformational change,” says Menna Bizuneh, CFLP director and associate professor of economics at Pitzer College. “Its success is measured through its inspirational alumni leaders who have made a meaningful impact in various leadership roles within and without The Claremont Colleges.”