Past Recipients: Volunteer of the Year

Scripps College recognizes and appreciates the importance of the ongoing commitment, dedication, and leadership of its alumnae. The Volunteer of the Year award recognizes an alum for their commitment, dedication, leadership, and exceptional volunteer service on behalf of Scripps College. The award is presented each year during Reunion Weekend.

Latest Recipient: Tempe Johnson Javitz ’71

Tempe Johnson Javitz ’71 grew up on a cattle ranch in southeastern Montana. Attending Scripps College from the little town of Sheridan, Wyoming, transformed her life. Tempe graduated in 1971 with a BA in English literature and a minor in humanities. That winter she married Hal Javitz (CMC ’71) and they moved to Berkeley, California, where Tempe was a sales rep for American Automobile Association. From 1979 to 2007, she operated her own State Farm agency in Palo Alto. Tempe and Hal raised two children, and she participated in many local organizations: the Palo Alto Chamber of Commerce; American Association of University Women; the Colonial Dames of America; and the daughters of the American Revolution. After four years in Claremont garnering an extraordinary education and fabulous friendships, Tempe felt the next thing to do was give back. A few years after graduation she began interviewing prospective students for the admission office, which is still one of her favorite activities. In the late 80s and early 90s, she assisted the Bay Area Associates in getting alumnae together for several events including, birthday parties for Miss Scripps. From 2013 through 2017, she created Bay Area Hikes to get local alumnae together in the spring. Tempe regularly attended Camp Scripps since 2000 and in 2006 was a Camp tri-chair. Between 2014 and 2019, she organized the Camp Scripps Funds Committee to raise money for camp scholarships. Tempe has been a part of her class reunion committee for their 40th, 45th, and last year’s 50th reunion. Because of her sales background, Tempe isn’t afraid to call classmates and ask for contributions to the class scholarship.

Tempe is the granddaughter of Montana photographer, Jessamine Spear Johnson, and since retiring in 2007 has preserved her photographic legacy. Tempe’s book on Jessamine will be published in late 2022, by the South Dakota Historical Society Press. Tempe’s article on Jessamine for Montana The Magazine of Western History won a 2021 Wrangler Award from the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

Past Recipients

Year Alumna Position
2021 Maddie Ripley ’14 Consultant, McKinsey & Company’s Operations Practice
2020 Alicen Lewis ’15 Creative Strategist, Twitch
2019 Devanie Dóñez ’94 Volunteer Leaders
2018 Brooke Tomblin ’92 Clinical Program Manager, Cigna
2017 Mariaestella Cuara ’89 Ad Hoc Committee member, Camp Scripps Creative Caucus member, Council on Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity member
2016 Catherine McIntosh ’76 President of the Scripps Fine Arts Foundation and Member of Board of Directors for the Claremont Museum of Art
2015 Fabiola Ceballos-Durham ’02 Online Professor, John Jay College of Criminal Justice
2014 Marga Rose Hancock ’69 Developer/writer/editor/publisher of biographical and historical studies
2013 Sadie Deeks McFarlane ’77 Creative Caucus member, Camp Scripps
2012 Katherine Madison Cerino ’70 Regional Associates Volunteer Leader
2011 Valerie Thom Read ’57 Community Volunteer
2010 Sue Talbot ’69 Artist/Educator/Volunteer
2009 Evelyn Nelson Senior ’70 Volunteer Leader
2008 Anne Browning McIntosh ’83 City Planner/Volunteer Leader
2006 Diana L. Ho ’71 Volunteer Leader
2005 Merrilee Stewart Howard ’70 Artist/Volunteer Leader