Music of Debussy and Delius

Friday Noon Concert Series

Balch Auditorium

Jonathan Wright (Pomona faculty), violin

Stephan Moss (Pomona/Scripps staff accompanist), piano

This program features two sonatas, each published in 1917. Debussy’s violin sonata, his last work, is a masterpiece of concision, consisting of three strongly contrasting movements. The sonata by Delius, the first of three published in his lifetime, is an expansive single-movement work exploring a number of distinct but related subjects. Its rich harmonic language marries influences of jazz and French impressionism with full-blooded English Romanticism.


Claude Debussy, Sonata No. 1 in G minor (1917)

Frederick Delius, Sonata No. 1 (1917)

Sponsored by the Departments of Music at Pomona and Scripps Colleges.