News Flash

New Hall Naming

When NEW Hall opened in fall 2016, the “NEW” designation seemed apt. This fall, the College announced that “NEW” also refers to the initials of its namesake, Nan Elizabeth Walsh Schow. A women’s college graduate and grandmother of a recent Scripps alumna, Mrs. Schow was inspired by Scripps’ commitment to the arts and humanities and captivated by the beauty of our campus. Schow Hall is the College’s 10th residence hall.

New Tapestry On Campus

Scripps’ newest residence hall is now home to Lola’s Garden, a jacquard tapestry by Professor of Art Nancy Macko. Installed in the living room, the 6-by-12-foot tapestry carries on the tradition of displaying Scripps professors’ artwork on campus. The tapestry is named for Lola Trafecanty, Scripps’ director of grounds.

Mellon Funds Humanities Initiative

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded Scripps $800,000 to support a new interdisciplinary humanities initiative. The grant will fund summer undergraduate research fellowships, professional development for faculty, and new clinic courses that pair faculty and students with community organizations throughout greater Los Angeles to address complex issues through a humanistic approach.

Professor Harley Awarded NEA Art Works Grant

Associate Professor of Music Anne Harley has received an Art Works grant from the National Endowment for the Arts to support the commissioning of a new work of vocal chamber music by Scripps alumna Marjorie Merryman ’72. The work will set original texts of Saint Thecla, arguably the earliest female teacher of Christianity, in both English and Neo-Aramaic; parallel premieres are planned for the Los Angeles and New York areas in spring 2020.

CMS Athenas Win Big

In June, the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women’s golf and women’s tennis teams won NCAA Division III National Championships—the first in Athenas tennis history. The Athenas also placed fourth at the NCAA Track & Field Championships for their highest finish ever, and sprinter Tyra Abraham ’18 was subsequently nominated for the 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year Award.