Fall 2019 Convocation: Students, Faculty, and Staff Welcome New Academic Year

CLAREMONT, California - September 5, 2019


On Tuesday, September 3, Scripps College welcomed students, faculty, and staff to campus for the start of the 2019–20 academic year. President and W.M. Keck Presidential Chair Lara Tiedens delivered the opening remarks and recognized faculty recipients of the Mary W. Johnson Faculty Achievement Awards in teaching, scholarship, and service (full list below). She was followed by Amy Marcus-Newhall, vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty, who recognized 2018–19 student and faculty awardees. Ken Gonzalez-Day, Professor of Art and Fletcher Jones Chair in Art, delivered the keynote address, entitled “Absence, Erasure, and Critical Inquiry in the Arts.”

New tenure track faculty were also introduced to the community. New faculty include Theodore Bartholomew, assistant professor of psychology; Tia Blassingame, assistant professor of art (book arts); Christina Edholm, assistant professor of mathematics; Julin Everett, assistant professor of French; Nicholas Kacher, assistant professor of economics; Julia Lum, assistant professor of art history; Sarah Marzen, assistant professor of physics; Janet Sheung, assistant professor of physics ; Douglas Goodwin, Fletcher Jones Scholar in Computation; and Meiver De la Cruz, Consortium for Faculty Diversity Fellow in dance.

Convocation concluded with students, faculty, and staff joining together in song with Associate Professor of Music and Chair, Joint Music Program Charles Kamm, who led the audience in Thy Many Gifts, the Scripps alma mater composed in 1932.

Mary W. Johnson Faculty Achievement Awards


  • Claudia Arteaga, Assistant Professor of Spanish, Latin American, and Caribbean Literatures and Cultures
  • Gabriela Bacsan, Assistant Professor of Spanish, Latin American, and Caribbean Literatures and Cultures
  • Lara Deeb, Professor of Anthropology and Interim Chair, Department of Religious Studies
  • Mary Hatcher-Skeers, Professor of Chemistry and Sidney J. Weinberg, Jr. Chair in Natural Sciences
  • Maryan Soliman, Assistant Professor of Africana Studies
  • Carlin Wing, Assistant Professor of Media Studies and Chair, Department of Media Studies


  • Anne Harley, Associate Professor of Music
  • Hao Huang, Professor of Music and Bessie and Cecil Frankel Endowed Chair in Music
  • Seo Young Park, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Anthropology
  • Sheila Walker, Professor of Psychology and Laura Vausbinder Hockett Endowed Professorship and Chair, Intercollegiate Department of Africana Studies
  • Branwen Williams, Associate Professor of Environmental Science


  • Marino Forlino, Assistant Professor of Italian