Diversity and Inclusivity

Board Committee on Diversity and Inclusivity

Context and Role of the Board Committee on Diversity and Inclusivity:

The Scripps College Diversity and Inclusivity Strategic Plan calls for strengthening “the integration of the full range of human experience and backgrounds into Scripps’ academic, co-curricular, and residential life.” This aspiration is realized through the College’s commitment to ensure every member of the community acquires the capacity for viewing issues or problems from multiple perspectives and cultural vantage points. The goal is to develop a community that values other perspectives and is inclusive of all voices. The Board Committee on Diversity and Inclusivity’s work will parallel other ongoing discussions taking place on campus regarding issues related to equity, inclusion, and diversity. The committee’s continuance will be re-evaluated in 2015.

The Board Committee charge focuses on the Diversity and Inclusivity Plan, highlights the history of status reports, and discusses the development of outcomes.

Board Committee on Diversity and Inclusivity:

Barbara Bruner ’76, Co-chair
Fran Norris Scoble, Co-chair
Lynne Brickner
Ellen Clark Brown
Mark Herron
Trish Jackson
Pamela Ng (RGT-Elect)
Carolyn Revelle
Kalpana Rhodes
Maddy Ruvolo
Tori Sepand
Lynne Thompson
Lara Tiedens
Bonnie Wozencroft


Senior staff: 
Charlotte Johnson
Amy Marcus-Newhall
Denise Nelson Nash